you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


While it would be easy to assume that anyone in the car business is a car enthusiast, it’s not necessarily true. But at Mazda, even the company’s dealer partners live the “Driving Matters” lifestyle, with many of them participating in both amateur and professional racing activities in their spare time. For the fourth time in four years, Mazda Senior Vice President Robert Davis will be orchestrating Mazda’s multi-car Mazda MX-5 Cup effort in the longest endurance race in North America, at this weekend’s 25 Hours of Thunderhill, presented by Hawk Performance, in Willows, Calif. In true Mazda fashion, the company will participate with Mazda dealers at the wheel, and Mazda employees volunteering their weekend to crew the cars.mazda-thunderhill

Robert Davis, senior vice president, Mazda North American Operations (MNAO), said, “No one visits Thunderhill in December for the weather. This race separates the racers from the posers. It is 25 hours of decision making behind the wheel and behind pit wall. We started this four years ago as a fun factory guy versus dealer challenge, and now it has evolved into an amazing team effort with some of our greatest ambassadors, testing our latest production-based racecars, with Mazda employees behind the pit wall. We’re pleased to have Scott Clark, the COO from Michelin, joining us this year, further supporting the long and deep Mazda Michelin/BFGoodrich Tires relationship. The goal this weekend is to go fast, have fun, and not freeze to death.”

Since this time last year, Mazda Motorsports and Long Road Racing have built and sold over 120 of the newest-generation 2016 Global MX-5 Cup cars. The Thunderhill team will consist of three Mazda MX-5 Cup racecars, the exact cars that debuted at Thunderhill last year.

The Mazda driver line-up is as follows:
Taz Harvey Dublin Mazda (Dublin, Calif.)
Richard Fisher Autobarn Mazda (Chicago, Ill.)
Spencer Brockman Mazda of Milford (Milford, Mass.)
Michael Brockman Mazda of Milford (Milford, Mass.)
Mark Abouzeid Chico Mazda (Chico, Calif.)
Ben Robertaccio Morrie’s Mazda (Minnetonka, Minn.)
CJ Wilson CJ Wilson Mazda (Chicago, Ill.)
Camden Jones Velocity Mazda (Tyler, Texas)
Tom Bogar Autex Mazda (Keene, N.H.)
Scott Clark Michelin/BFG
Liam Dwyer Freedom Autosport
Stevan McAleer Freedom Autosport


The race will be livestreamed at www.MazdaLive.com starting at 11:00 a.m. (Pacific) on Saturday, December 3.

Source. Mazda


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

Flickr Photos

%d bloggers like this: