you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


Continuity is the watchword at YACO Racing for the 2017 season. As in the previous year, the team from Plauen near the Czech border will field an Audi R8 in the ADAC GT Masters with drivers Rahel Frey (31, Switzerland) and Philip Geipel (31, Plauen). This will be their fourth year in the Super Sports Car League which will kick off its new season on the weekend of 28th – 30th April in the Motorsport Arena Oschersleben. yaco-racing

Team principal Uwe Geipel told us: “We’re going for a well-tried and tested combo. Rahel and Philip have been together with us since 2014, which means that the whole outfit works extremely well as a team, and possible sources of error are eliminated before they arise. Apart from being successful, the fun element is important to us too, and Rahel certainly knows how to have a laugh.”

In 2016, the first year of competition for the second generation Audi R8, YACO Racing won the second race in Zandvoort and went on to take another podium in their home race at the Sachsenring. Philip Geipel finished the season eighth overall. His team-mate Frey, who had to miss a race weekend, placed ninth overall. Up until that point, no YACO-Racing driver had ever managed to finish so high up the field in the ADAC GT Masters since the team first joined the series in 2012. It comes, therefore, as no big surprise, that the driver pairing of Frey & Geipel remains unchanged this season.

Their aim in 2017 is to repeat last year’s success. Uwe Geipel: “Both our drivers made it into the Top Ten last year, despite the fact that there were five races where we failed to score points as a result of no-fault collisions. We want to get through the year without any retirements and consistently score points. That guarantees that you finish up front in the end. Last year’s championship-winning team took only one win but achieved a further six podiums.”

2017 ADAC GT Masters Calendar

28/04/17 – 30/04/17 Motorsport Arena Oschersleben
19/05/17 – 21/05/17 Lausitzring (with DTM)
09/06/17 – 11/06/17 Red Bull Ring, Austria
21/07/17 – 23/07/17 Circuit Park Zandvoort, Netherlands
04/08/17 – 06/08/17 Nürburgring
15/09/17 – 17/09/17 Sachsenring
22/09/17 – 24/09/17 Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg

Source. ADAC GT Masters/ADAC Motorsport


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

Flickr Photos

%d bloggers like this: