//
you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized

SHORTER SUZUKA SPRINT BATTLE LOOMS IN SUPER GT

Nissan’s Super GT squads head for round three of the 2018 championship this weekend at Suzuka with the series aces facing a shorter 300km battle compared to the traditional 1000km that has been held here in the past.

For 2018, Suzuka’s schedule has expanded with a new 10-hour race for GT3 machinery replacing the 1000km in August. The Super GT championship will now do battle over the standard 300km race distance in a separate race weekend.

Nissan enters this weekend in the GT500 championship lead with Ronnie Quintarelli and Tsugio Matsuda holding a five-point gap after winning at Fuji International Speedway.

The brand’s most recent success at Suzuka includes a pole position for Quintarelli in 2015 and a GT300 victory for the Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 the same year.

Suzuka was also the venue for Mitsunori Takaboshi’s GT500 class debut. The Japanese ace filled in for the injured Katsumasa Chiyo in 2016 at Suzuka with Satoshi Motoyama and excelled with a third-place finish.

Nissan’s last Suzuka endurance race victory came in 2012 with Quintarelli and Masataka Yanagida. The brand has also visited victory lane here in 2008, 2006, 1993, 1990, 1973 and 1970.

This weekend’s Super GT round will again be live streamed on NISMO.tv on YouTube with the green flag scheduled for 2:40 pm Japan time, 7:40 am CET, 6:40 am UK, 1:40 am US Eastern and 10:40 pm US Pacific.

Source. Super GT

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

Flickr Photos

%d bloggers like this: