you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


The CAMS Australian GT Championship will race into Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend for its fifth round of the 2018 season.

A packed 24-car field is set to line up for three thrilling 40-minute races beginning on Friday with practice, qualifying and the first of the weekend’s races.

Accompanying the Australian GT Championship is the CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series, making for an incredibly diverse grid representing ten of the world’s leading automotive manufacturers.

Heading into the weekend the Australian GT Championship is poised on a knife edge, with Tony Bates  holding a slender lead at the top of the championship standings.

Second in the title fight is Fraser Ross, the McLaren 650S GT3 driver trails Bates by just 25 points.

Competition at the top of the standings is incredibly close, with Steven Richards (BMW Team SRM M6 GT3) just six points further back.

Richards is joined by young gun Ricky Capo, who rejoins the team after partnering with the multiple Bathurst 1000 winner at Sandown earlier in the season.

Also joining the field is the Hobson Motorsport run Nissan GT-R NISMOI GT3, set to be driven by Brett Hobson.

It will mark Hobson’s Australian GT debut and is the first time a Nissan has been on the Australian GT grid since 2016.

Race winners of the Sydney Motorsport Park event that season, Andrew and George Miedecke are also set to make their return to the championship fold.

The father and son pair will share the Miedecke Motorsport / Magswitch Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3.

It will be one of two such cars on the grid, with Tony Quinn switching from a McLaren back to an Aston Martin.

The famous British marque will also be represented in GT4, with Jeremy Gray  Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT4 looking to put a tough Phillip Island event behind him.

Currently leading the competition, Gray will be looking to fend off the advances of David Crampton and Trent Harrison in the eye-catchingM Motorsport KTM X-Bow GT4.

The Trophy Series battle is also set to be electric with Nick Kelly, Rio Nugara, and Matthew Stoupas all within touching distance of the series crown.

With nine wins to his name in 2018, Kelly (Industrie Audi R8 Ultra GT3) holds a 91-point advantage over Rio Nugara Audi R8 LMS Ultra, but it is Nugara who has won the last three races on the bounce.

Only 12 points further back is the rapid Matthew Stoupas, Audi R8 Ultra GT3.

Melbourne teenager Ryan How is set to become one of the youngest competitors ever to race in Australian GT when he takes the wheel of the Ren Racing Audi R8 Ultra GT3.

The Year 10 student has proved successful racing in Victoria and is looking forward to the challenge of testing himself against the best GT racers in Australia.

Track action begins at 1140 on Friday (August 3) with opening practice, before moving into two qualifying sessions later in the day.

The opening 40-minute race takes place at 1550 ahead of two further races on Sunday, at 1225 and 1525 respectively.

Entry List: Australian GT Championship, Sydney Motorsport Park

# Team Car Drivers Class
1 Valvoline Audi R8 LMS GT3 Geoff Emery CH
6 Wall Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Adrian Deitz
Cameron McConville CH
7 Local Legends Beef Jerky Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 Tony Quinn CH
12 John Nikolovski Ferrari 458 Challenge John Nikolovski
Jamie Arratoon TR
19 Hogs Breath Café / Griffith Corporation Mercedes-AMG GT3 Mark Griffith CH
23 Kentucky Fried Chicken Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Matthew Stoupas TR
24 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Audi R8 LMS GT3 Tony Bates CH
25 BTE Bulk Transport Equipment / Ren Racing Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Ryan How TR
29 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate / FreeM Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Jim Manolios CH
49 M Motorpsort Lamborghini R-EX GT3 Justin McMillan
Dean Koutsoumidis CH
50 Vantage Freight / M Motorsport KTM X-Bow GT4 David Crampton
Trent Harrison GT4
59 Total Oil / Opti-Coat / Logitech McLaren 650S GT3 Fraser Ross CH
63 Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Peter Hackett CH
67 JMG / Bilstein Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT4 Jeremy Gray GT4
95 Miedecke Motorsport / Magswitch Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 Andrew Miedecke
George Miedecke CH
96 Hobson Motorsport / Hi-Tech Oils Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Brett Hobson CH
99 Industrie Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Nick Kelly TR
100 BMW Team SRM BMW M6 GT3 Steve Richards
Ricky Capo CH
147 Superfluid Ferrari 458 GT3 Dave Stevens TR
188 E.A.T. Furniture Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Rio Nugara TR
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Scott Taylor CH
777 The Bend Motor Sport Park Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yasser Shahin CH
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche 911 GT3 R Liam Talbot CH
991 Perfect Auto Body Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Vince Muriti TR

Australian GT Track Schedule
Friday, August 3
1140 – Practice 1 (30mins)
1340 – Qualifying 1 (15mins)
1400 – Qualifying 2 (15mins)
1550 – Race 1 (40mins)

Saturday, August 4
1320 – Race 2 (40mins)
1620 – Race 3 (40mins)

Source. Australian GT


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

%d bloggers like this: