you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


A comprehensive hygiene concept has allowed racing to return to the Nürburgring-Nordschleife (GER). As a result, the Nürburgring Endurance Series NLS kicked off the 2020 season at the weekend. The 51st Adenauer Rundstrecken-Trophy on Saturday formed the opening round – and the Nordschleife season began with a BMW win. After four hours of racing, victory went to David Pittard (GBR) and Mikkel Jensen (DEN) in the #34 Walkenhorst Motorsport BMW M6 GT3. The duo crossed the finish line narrowly in second place, but subsequently benefitted from a time penalty handed to the leading Mercedes. Pittard laid the foundation for this success in the early stages of the race when, despite drizzle, he cut through the field from fifth to second place. “The first race after the break, and our first win – that is wonderful! It feels fantastic to be back on the Nordschleife and back in a race car,” said Pittard. “Walkenhorst Motorsport has done a magnificent job over the winter. After my crazy first stint, Mikkel was incredibly fast and all I had to do at the end was to bring the car home in one piece. We are delighted.” BMW works drivers Philipp Eng (AUT) and Nick Catsburg (NED) shared the cockpit of the #99 ROWE Racing BMW M6 GT3 and finished fifth.

In the SP10 class, the BMW M4 GT4 was the dominant car with all three steps on the podium being occupied by BMW teams. Victory went to Hofor Racing by Bonk Motorsport with its drivers Michael Schrey (GER), Michael Fischer (AUT) and Gabriele Piana (SUI) in the #192 BMW M4 GT4. The #1 BMW M4 GT4, run by Pixum CFN Team Adrenalin Motorsport, crossed the finish line in second place. They were joined on the podium by FK Performance Motorsport, which came home third in the #169 car. BMW Junior Team, with Neil Verhagen (USA), Dan Harper (GBR) and Max Hesse (GER), also started the NLS season in the BMW M240i Racing in the SP8T class. The trio was struck by misfortune however, and was forced to retire with a technical issue early in the race. In total, BMW teams claimed seven class victories in various BMW race cars.

BMW M240i Racing Cup: First win of the season goes to Pixum CFN Team Adrenalin Motorsport.

The reigning champions made the perfect start to the 2020 season in the BMW M240i Racing Cup. Pixum CFN Team Adrenalin Motorsport took the first victory of the year in the #650 BMW M240i Racing. The car was driven by Francesco Merlini (ITA), Sindre Setsaas (NOR), David Griessner (AUT) and Yannick Fübrich (GER). Second place went to the Schnitzelalm Racing GmbH team, with Marcel Marchewicz and Tim Neuser (both GER) alternating at the wheel of the #673 car. Heiko Eichenberg and Moritz Oberheim (both GER) finished third in car #695, run by the AVIA Sorg Rennsport team. In total, twelve BMW M240i Racings took part in the opening race. The BMW M240i Racing Cup will be held on the same bill as the Nürburgring Endurance Series again this season.

BMW Sports Trophy: Amended regulations announced for the 2019/20 season.

The coronavirus pandemic and the race events cancelled and postponed all over the world have also affected the BMW Sports Trophy. With numerous organisers extending their race calendar into late autumn, the decision has been taken to extend the 59th BMW Sports Trophy season (2019/2020). Instead of ending on 31st October 2020 as originally planned, the official scoring period now runs from 1st November 2019 to 30th November 2020. This gives participants the opportunity to continue to score points in the Driver and Team competitions at events held later in the year. There is one bit of bad news as the tight schedule means that the end-of-season event, which has previously been held each year in Munich at the start of December, has had to be cancelled. However, this does not mean that the 25 best-placed drivers and the ten teams with the most points must do without their awards. Like previous prize winners, they can look forward to attractive prize money, which will be officially announced over the course of the season.

Source. BMW


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

Flickr Photos

%d bloggers like this: