you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


Porsche Motorsport has announced the 12 finalists that will contest the Porsche Junior Shootout from the 23 to 25 November, in Aragon, Spain.

Carrera Cup Australia will be represented by McElrea Racing’s Cooper Murray. Murray has been in Europe since winning the Porsche Michelin Junior nomination in October and has already undergone two test sessions at Portimao and Paul Ricard with the French Martinet by Almeras team.

Despite having to learn the Portimao track and characteristics of the new 992 generation Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car, Murray finished on the podium in the last round of Carrera Cup France as part of his preparation for the Junior Shootout.

After a welcome meeting and dinner on the Monday evening, the Shootout schedule sees the 12 Junior finalists undergo a series of medical checks, press activities, interview sessions and administrative organisation on the first day, as well as a seating fitting in the Type 992 and a Track walk of the Aragon circuit. The Wednesday and Thursday compromise four on track sessions.

The Porsche Junior Programme in Australia continues to play a crucial role in the development of the best emerging talent from the Australasian region and is seen as the most proven pathway for talented drivers to progress to the highest level abroad.

Both Matt Campbell (2016 Champion) and Jaxon Evans (2018 Champion) won the Global Junior Shootout in their respective seasons and have since gone onto compete at the highest international level with Porsche.

Other drivers that have progressed up the Porsche Motorsport pyramid in recent years via the Australian Junior Programme, include the likes of Jordan Love, Cameron Hill, Nick Foster, Andre Heimgartner and Dylan O’Keeffe, who have all gone on to succeed at the highest levels of the sport both locally and internationally.

2021 Porsche Global Junior Shootout

1 C. Murray Australia
2 H. Van Eijndhoven Belgium
3 E. Elias Brazil
4 L. Heinrich Germany
5 M. Klein France
6 L. Hanafin Great Britain
7 H. King Great Britain
8 A. Giardelli Italy
9 M. Moretti Italy
10 S. Priaulx North America
11 K. Van Berlo North America
12 H. Ericsson Scandinavia

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

%d bloggers like this: