you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


The 15th season of the ADAC GT Masters was not only one of the most dramatic in the history of the series, but also provided some fascinating facts and figures. A glance at the statistics reveals exactly why this year’s title went to German GT Champions Ricardo Feller (21/CH) and Christopher Mies (32/Düsseldorf).

14 cars led a race in the German GT Championship for at least one lap this season. With a total of 104 laps at the head of the field, the #29 Audi of Feller and Mies heads this statistic. That is the equivalent of roughly 20 percent of the season’s 553 laps.

Feller and Mies also showed impressive consistency: Apart from race two in Zandvoort, the duo picked up points in all 14 of this season’s races. Only runners-up Mathieu Jaminet and Michael Ammermüller finished in the points as often as the champions.

With three Pirelli Pole Positions in 2021, Ricardo Feller was the top driver in qualifying.

This season, bonus points were up for grabs for the fastest three in qualifying. Here too, the champions were top of the pile: Feller and Mies scored twelve extra points in qualifying. One other driver achieved a dozen bonus points: Lamborghini works driver Mirko Bortolotti.

Three pairs of drivers finished on the podium six times in the 14 races: As well as champions Feller and Mies, these were runners-up Mathieu Jaminet and Michael Ammermüller, and third-placed Maro Engel and Luca Stolz. In total, 29 drivers from 12 teams made it onto the podium.

Ricardo Feller was also the top dog in the Pirelli Junior competition: The foundation for his title win were his six class victories – more than anyone else this season.

The new champions ended the season with a four-point lead. Only once in 15 seasons of the ADAC GT Masters has the title race been closer: In 2018, Robert Renauer and Mathieu Jaminet won the title by just one point.

With four victories to their name, defending champion Ammermüller and Porsche works driver Jaminet scored the most wins in the 2021 season. The championship-winning duo of Feller/Mies climbed onto the top step of the podium on three occasions. In total, 16 drivers won at least one race.

Two drivers claimed their maiden ADAC GT Masters victory in 2021: Igor Waliłko and Franck Perera. Mann-Filter Team Landgraf – HTP/WWR also secured its first triumph. What made the victory for the team from the Rhineland-Palatinate region so special was that it came in its very first race in the championship.

The ADAC GT Masters boasted impressive strength in depth again this season: On average, 19 cars were within one second of each other in the 14 qualifying sessions.

Jusuf Owega was just 16 years, four months and 28 days old when he made his ADAC GT Masters debut in Hockenheim, making him the youngest driver in the history of the series.

Five teams finished in the points in all 14 races this season: Montaplast by Land-Motorsport, SSR Performance, GRT Grasser Racing Team, Team Zakspeed Mobil Krankenkasse Racing and Küs Team Bernhard.

With four victories, Audi and Porsche were the most successful manufacturers. Mercedes-AMG (3 wins), Lamborghini (2) and Corvette (1) completed the quintet of victorious manufacturers.

In contrast, Mercedes-AMG was the top manufacturer when it came to the number of podiums. Drivers finished in the top three in a car with a star on its bonnet on 12 occasions. Porsche drivers made it onto the podium ten times, Audi eight.

The biggest win of the year came courtesy of Mathieu Jaminet and Michael Ammermüller in the Sunday race in Oschersleben: They came home 22.640 seconds clear of the field on a drying track in a race that was shaped by tyre selection. Lamborghini duo Mirko Bortolotti/Marco Mapelli secured the closest victory of the season, finishing just 0.521 seconds ahead of Mies and Feller in the Saturday race in Hockenheim.

Thanks to the “Bottle-Free Zone” in the paddock, introduced by series partner BWT and the ADAC, roughly 100,000 plastic bottles were saved this season.

This year’s starters completed a total of 12,181 race laps. BWT and the ADAC donated four euros for each of these laps as part of the BWT Race Lap Award. This amounted to € 48,724, which was bumped up to € 60,000 by BWT and the ADAC. The money will be donated to the b.waterMISSION project, which constructs wells in Africa.

66 drivers from 15 countries and 20 teams lined up in the 14 races in 2021.

Source. ADAC GT Masters


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

%d bloggers like this: