you're reading...
Recent Posts, Uncategorized


Thanks to his fourth win, Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing) has kept the fight for the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland crown open. At round 14 at the Sachsenring on Sunday, the Porsche Junior beat Christopher Zöchling (Austria/Fach Auto Tech) and Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite) to the flag. Heading to the season finale at Hockenheim (22 to 24 October), Saturday’s winner ten Voorde sits at the top of the leaderboard, 24 points ahead of Güven. Fifty points are still up for grabs. “I knew that I had to win to improve my chances in the race for the title. And I used it. Now I have to repeat this result at the final event,” said Güven. The team classification decision has already been made: With two races remaining before the end of the season, GP Elite has secured overall victory here at the Sachsenring.

Twenty-six drivers tackled the race held as support to the ADAC GT Masters in their 510 PS Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. Fans in the grandstands were treated to an entertaining start: Coming from the third grid spot, Zöchling promptly swept past ten Voorde and polesitter Güven. A safety car phase in the second and third lap kept the field bunched together. At the restart, Güven was poised to strike and immediately overtook Zöchling. The 23-year-old then controlled the race at the front of the pack, increased his lead to 1.8-seconds, and crossed the finish line first after 22 laps ahead of Zöchling. “At the start, I opted for the outside line in the first corner. That paid off. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to maintain the front spot to the finish line, but second place is a great result,” concluded Zöchling.

Although Köhler took the flag in third place, he was ultimately handed a 30-second time penalty for causing a collision. As a result, ten Voorde inherited third place. Consequently, his GP Elite squad secured the team championship title early. “It’s our second season in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland and it has gone perfectly so far,” said team boss Torsten van Haasteren. The positions behind ten Voorde were occupied by Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin), Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/MRS GT-Racing) and Sandro Kaibach (Germany/Fach Auto Tech). Lukas Ertl (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing) crossed the finish line in seventh, with Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing) achieving eighth overall as the best rookie.

In the ProAm class, Kim Hauschild (HRT Motorsport) celebrated a double win. After his success on Saturday, the German repeated this feat with victory on Sunday. On the 3.645-kilometre track in Saxony, Hauschild beat his ProAm rivals Georgi Donchev (Bulgaria/Nebulus Racing by Huber) and Jan-Erik Slooten (Germany/Phoenix Racing) to the flag.

“We already have a champion, congratulations to GP Elite on winning the team title. In the overall, rookie and ProAm categories, everything is still wide open. That’s a good prerequisite for a suspenseful finale at Hockenheim and speaks volumes about the high level of competition in our series,” said Hurui Issak, Project Manager of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland.

The eighth race weekend of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland will be contested at the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg from 22 to 24 October. As hot favourites for the title, ten Voorde (281 points) and Güven (257 points) travel to the final round of the season run as part of the ADAC GT Masters support programme. In the rookie classification, Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Black Falcon Team Textar) leads with 265 points and fights for class honours against Buus (263 points). The title decision in the ProAm class will be made between the Luxembourger Carlos Rivas (Black Falcon Team Textar/300 points) and Hauschild (265 points).

Result race 14, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland
1. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing)
2. Christopher Zöchling (Austria/Fach Auto Tech)
3. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)
4. Rudy van Buren (Netherlands/CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin)
5. Jukka Honkavuori (Finland/MRS GT-Racing)
6. Sandro Kaibach (Germany/Fach Auto Tech)
7. Lukas Ertl (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing)
8. Bastian Buus (Denmark/Allied-Racing)
9. Daan van Kuijk (Netherlands/GP Elite)
10. Morris Schuring (Netherlands/Team GP Elite)

Points standings after 14 of 16 races
Drivers’ classification
1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite), 281 points
2. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Phoenix Racing), 257 points
3. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/Van Berghe Huber Racing), 194 points

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google Translate

%d bloggers like this: